Brainwalker

I enjoyed reading Brainwalker. I thought the premise was pretty clever – definitely an approach to teenage urban fantasy that I’ve never seen before. I found myself quite enamored with Bernard and all his geeky questions and theories. He’s charming and creative and perceptive – a great counter character to his father, who is obviously having a hard time and is kind of blah.

The Graces

I liked this book overall. I’m always game for a new approach to YA fantasy stories, and the mystery that surrounds witches plays nicely into that. The author did a nice job mixing real world (high school, friends, etc.) with the mystical world where witches exist. It was a nice blend and a fun story.

The Argent Star

My first thoughts on this book was that it was way too technical. I feel like there was so much jargon to sift through, and it wasn’t written in a way to make it interesting. The ideal situation with jargon is The Martian, but The Argent Star is a far cry from Andy Weir’s bestseller. This book also had a crazy and abrupt cliff hanger that feels like he was trying too hard.

The Sea of Tranquility

This was a beautiful and emotional book. The characters were raw and damaged, which I found refreshing. I feel like a lot of times in YA the characters are very fluffy, but these ones were written so real it hurt. It was so character-driven, which is my favorite kind of writing- so I really enjoyed this book.

A Thousand Salt Kisses

This was a cute romance story. Pretty charming and very young adult- haha. It had a lot of drama, and it does a decent job of pointing out the reality of being a teenager. It was a fun and easy read, and even though it was lacking in some areas, it’s definitely a fun summer book.

Dark Touch

This book stripped me down and messed with my minds in ways I did not expect. It was fantastically painful in parts, brutally honest, and very deep. I don’t even know how to accurately explain how I felt while reading it- it just moved me in a way a young adult book hasn’t in a long time and in a way I haven’t experienced.

A Study in Charlotte

Title: A Study in Charlotte Author: Brittany Cavallaro Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books Length: 336 Pages Synopsis: The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter. Jamie Watson has always been intrigued

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

I was really interested in reading this book, and then when I saw they were making a movie out of it, I knew I needed to review it before it came out. First of all, supernatural stories have never been my thing. Candidly, they really freak me out, but this one had more of a fantasy vibe. That combined with knowing several people who absolutely loved it, I swallowed my fear and pressed on.

The After Party

I was excited to get my hands on this book- it sounded really interesting and I wanted to let myself disappear in the world of Texas Glamour in the 50’s. I don’t know if my expectations were just too high or if there were some holes in the piece, but the book fell a little flat for me.

The Young Elites

This is a dark fantasy book, and I really enjoyed it. Lots of magic, fantastic villains (oh, how I love villains), and all of the princes and kingdoms you could ever want.