Brainwalker

I enjoyed reading Brainwalker. I thought the premise was pretty clever – definitely an approach to teenage urban fantasy that I’ve never seen before. I found myself quite enamored with Bernard and all his geeky questions and theories. He’s charming and creative and perceptive – a great counter character to his father, who is obviously having a hard time and is kind of blah.

The Graces

I liked this book overall. I’m always game for a new approach to YA fantasy stories, and the mystery that surrounds witches plays nicely into that. The author did a nice job mixing real world (high school, friends, etc.) with the mystical world where witches exist. It was a nice blend and a fun story.

The Argent Star

My first thoughts on this book was that it was way too technical. I feel like there was so much jargon to sift through, and it wasn’t written in a way to make it interesting. The ideal situation with jargon is The Martian, but The Argent Star is a far cry from Andy Weir’s bestseller. This book also had a crazy and abrupt cliff hanger that feels like he was trying too hard.

The Sea of Tranquility

This was a beautiful and emotional book. The characters were raw and damaged, which I found refreshing. I feel like a lot of times in YA the characters are very fluffy, but these ones were written so real it hurt. It was so character-driven, which is my favorite kind of writing- so I really enjoyed this book.

A Thousand Salt Kisses

This was a cute romance story. Pretty charming and very young adult- haha. It had a lot of drama, and it does a decent job of pointing out the reality of being a teenager. It was a fun and easy read, and even though it was lacking in some areas, it’s definitely a fun summer book.

Dark Touch

This book stripped me down and messed with my minds in ways I did not expect. It was fantastically painful in parts, brutally honest, and very deep. I don’t even know how to accurately explain how I felt while reading it- it just moved me in a way a young adult book hasn’t in a long time and in a way I haven’t experienced.

A Study in Charlotte

Title: A Study in Charlotte Author: Brittany Cavallaro Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books Length: 336 Pages Synopsis: The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter. Jamie Watson has always been intrigued

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

I was really interested in reading this book, and then when I saw they were making a movie out of it, I knew I needed to review it before it came out. First of all, supernatural stories have never been my thing. Candidly, they really freak me out, but this one had more of a fantasy vibe. That combined with knowing several people who absolutely loved it, I swallowed my fear and pressed on.

The After Party

I was excited to get my hands on this book- it sounded really interesting and I wanted to let myself disappear in the world of Texas Glamour in the 50’s. I don’t know if my expectations were just too high or if there were some holes in the piece, but the book fell a little flat for me.

The Young Elites

This is a dark fantasy book, and I really enjoyed it. Lots of magic, fantastic villains (oh, how I love villains), and all of the princes and kingdoms you could ever want.

Let’s Get Lost

Let’s Get Lost had a lot of elements that I found charming. It touched on some very real struggles, as well as some very real and wonderful aspects of belonging to the human race. And the adventures…oh, the adventures.

The Girl of Ink and Stars

I’ve been hearing a lot about The Girl of Ink and Stars ever since it was released in May, so I knew it was a must-read for me. I was drawn to it initially because I really like maps- and a cartographer’s daughter seemed like such a unique character to write. I was so happy I put this on my to-read list.